Mackie and Jarilyn | Melissa’s Fashion Remix

We believe you don’t have to buy a whole new wardrobe every season to create fun new looks! This week on Jackie and Marilyn, we are taking eight pieces – two tops, two bottoms, two dresses and two outerwear items – and mixing them into eight outfits. Shoes and accessories were limitless.

Melissa here with my fashion remix challenge. Boy, when Brianna brought up this idea I was like “That sounds Awesome!” but when I was faced with doing it I was like “Oh crap why did you agree to this torturrrree!” Haha, no, it’s really not that bad. I am notorious for having…not a lot of basics. My closet consists of ball gowns and sweatpants and not a whole lot in between, so I dreaded finding items that would mix and match well. 

Once I did find these items, though, I was pumped and surprised how many possibilities for “new” outfits I actually had.


Outfit #1: Halfway to Easter

1-8outfitsAdmittedly, this is the most “fun” and least “fall” outfit I got out of the bunch. I like it, but I think it would be better suited for the spring rather than the fall as it’s just a whole lot of pastel. It might be better with a darker/more solid colored cardigan over it!

Outfit #2: Pop of Fun
2-8outfitsThis is usually not how I would style an outfit, as I usually go full force with something zany instead of adding the neutral blazer and shoes…but I like it! I will have to remind myself that sometimes simple is ok 🙂
Outfit #3: Pitter-Patterns
3-8outfitsI have always been in awe of people who can layer collared shirts under things like dresses and sweaters (ahem, Brianna). It’s always been uncomfortable and frumpy-looking when I try it. I really love this look, but it took me a hot minute to get the collar to lay perfect, and it only cooperated for a couple pictures before it sat wrong over the dress again. I might have to face that layers are too much of a force to be reckoned with and leave it to the experts (ahem, Brianna).
Outfit #4: Gretal Goes To College
4-8outfits 4-HatThis outfit is probably the most “me” thing I ever could have done. All of the suede! All of the fall tones! All of the quirky vintage! I have never worn this vintage hat before even though I have had it forever and I think I finally found the outfit that it’s meant for!
Outfit #5: Green Team
5-8outfits
In the fall I usually switch to more earthy tones of all my favorite colors. I end up wearing a lot of greens and dark blues because I don’t do well with black or gray outfits. I love that this outfit looks relaxed and in the fall field with out looking boring or monotone!
Outfit #6: Anchorwoman
6-8outfits
This may be a little too matchy-matchy for some, but when you have some vintage 70s wear you’re bound to have some matching suede. It reminds me a lot of costuming for Christina Applegate’s character in the Anchorman movies, and I’m not mad about that. I also have found my new favorite pair of glasses from Coastal.com after returning for pairs. Success is mine!
Outfit #7: Back to Cool
7-8outfitsThis reminds me a lot of something I would’ve worn on my first day back to school (the most planned outfit of one’s fall!). I would always pick out some crazy stuff, but being on my parent’s dime, it would have to be functional as well. I would be too excited to wear one new thing so I would wear ALL THE NEW THINGS. I’m still this person, whether I have a first day of school or not.
Outfit #8:  Fall Ball
8-8outfitsI think this is the most balanced of the looks. Vintage, fun, but still approachable easy to pull off. A nice mixture of quirky and basics. If wearing floral in fall is wrong, I don’t want to be right!
Conclusions
Outfit that I loved the most: Gretal Goes to College (What can I say, I have a flair for the dramatic. I know not every day can be head to toe vintage and whimsy, but A LOT of days can if you play your cards right)
4-8outfitsOutfit that I loved the least: Pop of Fun. (I don’t hate it, but it ain’t me. I don’t look at it and go “yeah, I’d wear that.” More color please!)
2-8outfitsLike Brianna, I am pretty guilty of saying that I have nothing to wear and falling in to outfit ruts. I’ll take the lessons I learned from this challenge to heart and mix things up a bit more and maybe (just maybe) invest in a couple more “basics.”  Maybe one less heavily graphic printed item and one more plain-colored shirt. MAYBE. 🙂
– Melissa
Leave a Reply

