Jackie and Marilyn | Renaissance Royalty

The Renaissance Festival is here! This signals the end of summer but the start of a darn good time. My husband and I won tickets to go this year, so I’m glad we got to fit it in last weekend!
RennFest4As every year, I make sure to plan to go on “Pet Weekend,” because why wouldn’t you go on a weekend where you are guaranteed to see a bunch of dogs in costume? We saw a Mastiff there last year, which started our love affair and eventual acquiring of one with our dog, Brim.  He didn’t come with us this year, as he gets over stimulated and over heated pretty easily, but maybe when he is less of a giant puppy!
RennFest6 RennFest5I decided to dress up this year as royalty, although I really like the whole pirate and steam punk possibilities of the Renaissance era. I bought this head-jewel piece (I’m sure there is a nice name for it) last year at RenFest and had the vintage 1970’s dress since last winter. I’ve had a plan for quite some time! I even planned my hair cut (yet to be determined) for AFTER RenFest so that I could have long princess hair.
RennFest2 RennFest1I got this cool belt at a thrift store a couple years ago and haven’t had much chance or occasion to wear it. It’s actually velcro! Oh, the wonders of thrifting.
RennFest3By the end of the day I was covered in dust, dog drool, and turkey juice, but it was well worth it!
20150912_160704 20150912_164335 20150912_172227 received_10100832842553979 20150912_180202 20150912_161824_HDR
What I Wore:
Dress: Vintage/Thrifted
Belt: Thrifted
Jewel Hair Net: Renaissance Fair
Earrings: Gifted
– Melissa
Leave a Reply

