Jackie and Marilyn | To The Moon, Honey!

To follow up the wedding blog, why not show you a bit of the honeymoon? My husband and I decided to do a short honeymoon now and an actual honeymoon when it’s cold and we need to escape Minnesota. We didn’t have much for vacation, so we spent two days a couple hours north of us in Duluth. What better place to show off some nautical style than on the shores of Lake Superior?
Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 3.59.33 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-19 at 3.59.24 PM Duluth6Being on the north shore, it’s usually pretty cool, but we got lucky with a couple mid-70 days that turned into 60-degree evenings. I packed sundresses knowing very well that I would probably be a little cold, but I’m just not ready to give up my sundresses just yet. I pulled out this cute sailor dress from ModCloth, one of the first dresses I got from them years ago. It’s a little discolored and worn, but it’s still one of my favorites!
Duluth1 Duluth2
To keep the Lake Superior winds at bay, I had my handy jean jacket from Goodwill. Originally it was Sarah Jessica Parker’s line that I didn’t know she had. Way to make a great structured jean jacket, SJP!
Duluth3 These ModCloth sandals that I wore at my wedding are still going strong. They were $8 and the reviews said they would wear out quick. They are starting to wear, which makes me really sad because they are just the most comfy. If they weren’t sold out, I’d get 5 back up pairs. Restock, please, ModCloth!
Duluth4My husband and I have freakishly large heads, so hats for us are  never really an option. SOMEHOW this hat from Target fits my head. It was great to keep my hair from blowing all around and it is one of the few outfits I’ve worn where I feel like I’m “pulling it off” hat-wise. Huzzah!
Last but not least, I got these cute sailboat earrings for $1 at the antique store and they make me very happy. Of course I have to wear them in Duluth. Ahoy!
Duluth5
What I Wore:
Dress: ModCloth
Jacket: Goodwill
Hat: Target
Earrings: Antique Store
Shoes: ModCloth
Sunglasses: Target
– Melissa
Leave a Reply

