Jackie and Marilyn | Badass Barbie

There was a point in my life where I didn’t want to be a blonde and definitely didn’t want to dress “feminine.” A little of this was me being a teenage rebel who thought she was a punk rocker, a little was the negative connotations that being a blonde in a dress brought. And YES being a brunette did seem to change the way strangers interacted with me…but eventually, you begin to accept yourself and push away the outside assumptions people seem to place on you. I was valedictorian of my high school, after all! And the fact that I can’t park has nothing to do with my hair. So enter the “dress as girly as you want with almost white hair and treasure only the opinions of the loved ones around you phase.”
PolkaPink5I love these Traveling Cupcake dresses from ModCloth, and still don’t know how I don’t have them in every color/style. I definitely want the lavender someday, but I’ll wait for a special occasion.
PolkaPink4These shoes were supposed to be my wedding shoes, but they are so slippery! I wore this outfit to go to a movie and nearly fell flat on my face multiple times. Don’t worry, I have much more grippy back ups.
PolkaPink1I got this fun head wrap when ModCloth used to put extra “gifts” in your packages. I do miss those days, but any day you receive a ModCoth box in the mail is a good day, regardless. My earrings are from ModCloth too…I’m noticing a trend.
PolkaPink2 PolkaPink3I topped off this look with some lavendar sunglasses and a silly attitude, because, although the outside world may think I have a couple screws loose (and they may not be completely wrong) I am happy with the people who know me, love me and don’t judge me.
PolkaPink6 PolkaPink7 PolkaPink8
What I Wore:
Dress: ModCloth
Earrings: ModCloth
Headband: ModCloth
Sunglasses: Target
– Melissa
Leave a Reply

