Link

Jackie and Marilyn | Everything is Awesome

I wish I had appreciated Legos more as a kid. They are such cool, imaginative toys! At least I have an appreciation for them as an adult, particularly after the Lego movie.

But what does this have to do with today’s blog post? Everything! Last weekend my husband and I decided to visit the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum as it is running the Nature Connects exhibit right now, featuring intricate Lego art!

IMG_2409 IMG_2425 IMG_2463I wanted to wear something cute and summery while we were out, so I chose a new dress I recently bought from apricity. This dress is incredibly well structured and simply adorable! I tried the shop out after receiving a credit towards a purchase, and it was well worth it. Eileen, the shop owner, worked with me to try and find the best fit for me possible by emailing me for my custom measurements, which was a great touch!

IMG_2497IMG_2513The one negative about the dress is that it doesn’t fit me as well as I’d like in the shoulders/bust (which is a fairly common problem for me), but the waist was perfect so I didn’t want to risk sizing down. Someone with a fuller bust would fit into it well. Eventually I brought it to the tailor to see if I could adjust it, because the dress is too cute to give up on! The next time I order from the shop, I may try sizing down to see if it works for me better.

IMG_2670Huge positive: The skirt is super twirly and amazing, AND it has pockets!

IMG_2581 IMG_2590 IMG_2603I chose simple accessories – oxfords, a classic Etsy necklace and some delightful (get it??) fawn earrings from A Delightful Shop. I don’t think I will buy earrings from anywhere else anymore, because hers are seriously so amazing and unique!

IMG_2573 IMG_2570I also brought out the sun hat to attempt to keep my face from burning.

IMG_2678What I Wore:
Dress: apricity (also in indigo)
Hat: Boutique in Stillwater, MN
Necklace: Etsy
Earrings: A Delightful Shop
Shoes: Random Store in Santa Monica

If you live in Minnesota, I highly suggest you check out the Nature Connects exhibit. The artwork looks cool in photos but is even more incredible in person, and you can appreciate the effort put into their creation when you see in person how many pieces and build hours it took for each Lego formation. Plus, the Arboretum rules in general! Sculpture garden, mazes, seemingly endless hiking trails, picnic spots, floral gardens…I feel so fortunate it is practically in my backyard!

IMG_2480 IMG_2620 IMG_2559– Brianna

3 thoughts on “Jackie and Marilyn | Everything is Awesome

  1. mommylap says:

    So, that dress is pretty amazing. I do wish that for the price it wasn’t 100% poly, but modern man made fibers can be pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

