Jackie and Marilyn | Melissa’s Beach-Ready Bag

As you saw from Brianna’s Beach Bag post, girl is PREPARED. Like, this just isn’t for show people, I 100% believe she would have a picnic at the beach easy peasy because she is the Leslie Knope of life. I…am more of a Jerry Gergich when it comes to preparedness – I mean well, but often fall short.
Since my goal is to show you what I would pack in my bag (not what usually ends up happening) I present to you: What I Would TRY to Pack When Going to the Beach….and instead flake on going to the beach because my dog wanted to play with the hose and I couldn’t resist!
WhatsInTheBag2
Bag
I have about a BILLION of these TJ Maxx bags around the house. They’re great. They’re $1, and our family has been known to use them as gift bags for presents, so they are often exchanged from house to house. I like a gift wrap I can use!
Beach Towel
The bigger the towel, the better. I like to use mine as a full sized blanket and fall asleep in the sun. I often forget sunscreen and then I am am beautiful lobster. One day I’ll learn!
Sunglasses
I got these cuties for my birthday from Brianna! I am very very sensitive to light so sunglasses all the time are a must!
Bluetooth Speaker
Spotify is playing in my world 24/7. No beach party would be complete with out some sick jams!
Hair Tie and Brush
I don’t shy away from underwater swimming like a mermaid, so I try to always remember something to tame away the snarls before and after I go in the water to save myself the heartache of brushing them out when they are real bad. Summer would be a great time to shave my head if I had the guts!
Lip Stain
No, I don’t go to the beach in full, or usually any, makeup. That being said, I do like to have SOMETHING to distract from the wet hair and sunburned skin – and nothing makes me feel like I’ve put a little effort in more than a nice red lip!
WhatsInTheBag3
A Cover Up
I grew up essentially living in my swimsuit all day every day all summer, so no matter the insecurities of the day, I’m pretty comfortable letting it all hang out. That being said, I like to be able to go to a gas station or restaurant after a nice day at the beach, and there I can feel like a fish out of water. A nice, dainty cover up like this ModCloth jacket is just what the doctor ordered!
WhatsInTheBag1
Of course, you can’t go to the beach without a swimsuit (actually you can, but whatever). Brianna alerted me to this suit that was on sale on Brickyard Buffalo and I fell in love. She knows how to help me spend my money!
WhatsInTheBag4 WhatsInTheBag5Remember friends, if you can’t get to the beach, bring the beach to you! Your dog will thank you.
WhatsInTheBag6 WhatsInTheBag7What I Wore:
Swimsuit: Brickyard Buffalo (now can be found here)
Sunglasses: ModCloth
Hair Ribbon: ModCloth
Cover Up: ModCloth
Shoes: Zulily
Now I want to hear from you! What are your beach bag essentials? What can’t you live without? What are your tips for packing your bag? Share your thoughts in the comments below!
– Melissa
Leave a Reply

