Jackie and Marilyn | Brianna’s Beach-Ready Bag

Happy first week of summer, everyone! Only 91 days until the first day of autumn! 😉

As much as I love fall, I have to admit that this summer weather does have its perks. Lots of time outside, local farmer’s markets and opportunities to go swimming!

This week, we are featuring our beach-ready bags on the blog to help you all maximize your summer days. Here are my essentials!

IMG_2121Basics

Sunscreen, sunglasses, beach towel. Sunscreen is a no-brainer, but for me it’s super essential. I get really tan in the summer and I don’t always like it, so I try to keep it to a minimum with SPF 50.

IMG_2125 IMG_2135Big sun hats

For the same reason – maximum face protection. Plus, they’re super adorable!

IMG_2128Cover-up

I like having something to throw on over my swimsuit before I go to the beach because I don’t want to change when I get there. By having a cover-up, I can walk into a store on the way to the beach in case I forgot something or want to buy some snacks beforehand. I don’t like buying more clothes if I don’t have to, so I prefer to repurpose items. This was a dress I bought at a street fair in England when I traveled with my university five years ago! It’s a little baggy in the chest for regular wear but it makes for a cute beach throw.

IMG_2130Extra bag of clothes

I don’t want to change at the beach, but sometimes when I am leaving it is handy to be able to change into regular clothes, depending on where I am going next. I pack a smaller reuseable polyester bag to put inside my beach bag full of clothes, and it doubles as a bag to place my wet swimsuit if I change!

IMG_2137A good book

I am not the type that can just lie in the sun all day – I need activity! When I’m not in the water, playing a game or eating, I need to read to keep myself busy. I’m rereading the Harry Potter series right now and enjoying all the foreshadowing 🙂

IMG_2139Hair accessories

My hair is thick and I get super warm when it’s not up, but I don’t like having it up. I go in thinking “maybe this time it will be different, maybe I can leave it down the whole day!” No dice. I always need backup. I bring multi-colored hair ties so that I can have some fun if I decide to put my hair in pigtails, and the head scarf allows me to push back flyaways if they’re bugging me. They get their own separate baggy so they don’t get lost!

IMG_2140 IMG_2142Food

Food gets its own bag – a picnic basket! But it is equally essential as everything else. This picnic basket came from my best friend, and I love how well it straps everything in and keeps the food cool!

IMG_2156 IMG_2157 IMG_2158

And that’s it! Now I am ready for the beach!

IMG_4541 I work half days on Fridays all summer so my husband and I took the opportunity to have a picnic lunch at a local beach we’d never seen. It’s nice to get out and spend some time together without the crowds.

IMG_4555 IMG_4559 IMG_4549I love my Esther Williams swimsuit from ModCloth. I have it in two colors! You really feel comfortable and cute while wearing. Bikinis are great if you like them, but they’re not my bag personally. I prefer the structure of a one-piece.

IMG_4567 IMG_4573I couldn’t go to the beach without my Salt Water sandals either – or a fresh Jambicure! This was my first time applying Jamberry wraps to my toes and I think they turned out nicely.

IMG_4571 IMG_4544What I Wore:
Swimsuit: ModCloth
Cover-up: Vintage
Sandals: ModCloth
Nails: Jamberry

Now I want to hear from you! What are your beach bag essentials? What can’t you live without? What are your tips for packing your bag? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

– Brianna

3 thoughts on “Jackie and Marilyn | Brianna’s Beach-Ready Bag

Leave a Reply

