Jackie and Marilyn | This is 25

Today is my birthday!!! I am now 25 years old. Goodbye, early 20s expectations of doing things and being social. Hello, late 20s and Netflix dates that end at 10 p.m.

I am celebrating by going to work for the first time on my birthday…ever. Luckily I have a job that I enjoy and doesn’t make me crazy. And tonight there is the promise of sushi!

This week’s outfit actually come from the day I celebrated Mother’s Day with the woman who spent this day 25 years ago making sure I ended up in this world! Late that evening my husband and I were walking to a local restaurant for a late dinner and I realized that every day before today was projected to be rainy and gross…so I improvised with some iPhone photos!

IMG_3716 IMG_3719Now don’t get me wrong, I love my DSLR and nothing compares to the photos I get from that camera. But what I love about the iPhone’s camera is that you can still take nice photos in a pinch!

IMG_3728When I was little, I read the Royal Diaries series and distinctly remember Princess Elizabeth saying something in hers about how Henry VIII had told Princess Mary she looked even more beautiful, which “was of course a lie because everyone knows women lose their looks after 25.” I remember thinking “Oh dear, I hope it takes me forever to get to 25!

Now that I’m here…I have to say, with the heaviest of hearts, that Elizabeth I was full of it.

IMG_3724Aging doesn’t make you less beautiful – it adds wisdom to your beauty. And frankly, it is a privilege to age at all. That’s why my birthday is always a big celebration to me, even if I “get older” – it’s one more year I’ve been granted access to this lovely earth and all of the memories I am able to collect while I am here.

IMG_3732 IMG_3734 IMG_3735For this outfit I took my favorite color to wear – mustard yellow – and let it shine, adding subtle details like my owl flats and arrow earrings (which YOU can win a pair of your own if you enter our giveaway by May 31!)
IMG_3745 IMG_3737What I Wore:
Blouse: Thrifted
Earrings: A Delightful Shop
Skirt: ModCloth
Flats: ModCloth

Now I would be completely remiss if I didn’t mention the woman who gave me this awesome day to celebrate and who I spent most of my Saturday celebrating: my mom. She’s a pretty neat lady who wears that wisdom-infused beauty so well. We spent the day shopping around Mall of America, gabbing, acting as bad influences for purchases and eating lunch at Benihana. I love the life I live, and she gave it to me. Thank you, Mom! I love you!
IMG_3676 IMG_3671

– Brianna

Leave a Reply

