Jackie and Marilyn | Cherished Crimson Leaf

Aside from a giant snow dump yesterday (why, Minnesota? Why?!), spring has been in the air. This is the season of pastel palettes and floral frocks.

Except for me. No matter how hard I try, I am perpetually stuck in autumn.

IMG_0485This outfit is perfect for fall and yet I wear it during spring. I gravitate toward autumn tones, even when I tell myself I am going to mix it up with my color palette. A girl likes what a girl likes, I suppose.

IMG_0486And then it was too warm, so it was time to peel back the layers.

IMG_0514Heaven. Please come back, spring weather.

My friend Danielle, when I Snapchatted her my autumn-ready outfit, pulled a Leslie Knope-style compliment and called me a cherished crimson leaf. It feels like a pretty accurate description of my fondness for fall, no matter the actual season.

IMG_0516In defense of my outfit choice, nothing is really “springy” yet. When the grass was showing, it was the color of my mustard tights. None of the trees have leaves. The temperatures were gorgeous but nature didn’t look ready to be in full bloom yet, so it’s perfectly fine if I’m not, too!

IMG_0517IMG_0518I won’t begrudge a good floral outfit – I do love them and they will make their way out soon – but you can make it whatever season you want it to be. Forget “seasonal colors” – you do you!
IMG_0479 IMG_0477

What I Wore:
Dress: ModCloth
Necklace: Target
Cardigan: ModCloth
Belt: Francesca’s
Tights: H&M
Shoes: Kelly & Katie

– Brianna

Leave a Reply

