Marilyn Style: My (Would Be) Valentine

Last year on Valentine’s Day, this guy I had only met once (but had been talking to incessantly) sent flowers to my work and a little note professing his feelings. I was much like Brianna as a Valentine’s Underachiever,  but because of this little gesture this day means a lot more to me than it used to. So this year, with my Valentine on the right side of the country, I was excited to be able to spend the day with him!

zIMG_6682We had tickets to go see a performer we like in the city and I was promised myself some pizza. The performer, Tickle Torture, is a bit, uh, racy…but has absolutely great catchy Prince-on-cocaine like music that will instantly pull you in. So seeing as how he was going to be dancing on stage in a golden thong and setting off confetti canons, I decided to go a little “racy” as well. Now let me warm you, this is a neglige I’m pulling off as a dress with a nude slip underneath. So no, you’re not staring at my unmentionables but my slip would like you to think so!
zIMG_6674As Brianna mentioned, it was INSANELY cold out on V-day, so I wore a long black duster, a couple layer of tights, and planned on wearing my big jacket as well. Luckily, I didn’t have to worry about the cold because…
zIMG_6679Right before we were about to leave, our puppy ate an entire bag of cat food and his stomach ballooned to five times its size. Since his breed is prone to “bloat”…the concert was canceled for us! Before I changed out of my outfit and in to “puppy watch” sweatpants, I made Adam take some photos as proof that I tried!
zIMG_6685zIMG_6672
The cold, the drive, the staying up late and the general coziness of my house actually had me pretty relieved that we weren’t going out. I think I’m officially old! And don’t worry, after many trips to the bathroom…Brim is feeling much better.
What I Wore:
Dress: Thrift Store
Duster: Eddie Bauer/Thrift
Fleece Tights: Target
Necklace: Garage Sale
Earrings: Garage Sale
Boots: Thrift Store
2 thoughts on “Marilyn Style: My (Would Be) Valentine

Leave a Reply

