Marilyn Style: Old Buttons, New Life

Minnesota has been blessing us with somewhat decent weather lately (this is all relative folks, don’t get too pump) and I have been taking these opportunities to wear a couple less layers when I can!
3IMG_6402These aren’t the best pictures as it was as bright as my face out, but I wore this outfit while doing some errands a couple weeks ago and it was just the right amount of toasty.

 

The dress is something that greatly resembles the Coach Tour dresses from ModCloth, but it is something I got from Gadzooks (now Forever 21) when I was in high school. It was very well-loved, so much so that every single gold button eventually fell off. My sweet mother took it upon herself to sew new mother of pearl buttons back on it and surprise me with it a couple weekends ago. Welcome back dress!
3IMG_6411I paired this dress with a deep purple long suit coat (hi 80s) and some regular old tights (no need for fleeced-lined!). I also wore my favorite new boots because I have worn them every single day since I have got them. When I love something, I wear the buttons/soles/color off of it. Hopefully these guys last for a while!
3IMG_63953IMG_6410I decided to go with some colorful earrings since it’s been quite a while since I have done so. The best earrings are from garage sales! I don’t know why this lady was selling but I was definitely buying.
3IMG_6413Brim wanted to be in the pictures (in fact I cropped his tail out of every single other one). I promise you he is already double this size 🙂
3IMG_6389
What I Wore:
Dress: Forever 21
Coat: Thrifted
Earrings: Garage Sale
Tights: Target
Boots: ModCloth
Leave a Reply

