Marilyn Style: Mary Christmas

Yes, I realize it is no longer Christmas, and even though all my decorations are still up I do not mourn its passing. A day further away from the holidays means a day closer to spring, right? Hopefully sooner than I think.
That being said, I did want to share one of my holiday outfits with the blogosphere (are people still saying that?) and since we were merrily celebrating offline over Christmas, I figured I would do it now!
xIMG_6109My friend Mary was in town for Christmas and we all wanted to see her before she went to Canada (yes Canada) for her festivities. Since this was pre-Christmas day, I figured it was one of my last chances to go full on obnoxious in the holiday outfit department. Most of these things I can get away with wearing throughout the winter, but together they definitely have a deadline.
xIMG_6110Both the skirt and the sweater are vintage pieces I got in my college years and some of my most beloved. The skirt I got at an occasional sale by my home town, and the previous owner got to tell me about how well loved it was when she was my age. It’s always great when you get to meet the owner of some of your favorite older pieces! Though the mystery of who walked in your shoes or danced in your skirt before you is often romantic and fun, it really makes you appreciate vintage pieces when you meet the owner and hear the stories yourself!
xIMG_6119The sweater I got from Savers, and it is one of my favorite “winter white” things to wear. It is insanely warm and still nice and thin if you want to tuck it into a skirt. I have spilled coffee on it many a time (including right after these pictures) and I have been lucky enough to salvage it every time.
xIMG_6113Let’s talk accessories! The belt is a thrifted item, which I realize now I have many a thrifted belt. They are always 50 cents at Goodwill, so I tend to go overboard. The boots are a Christmas gift from last year from ModCloth and the earrings are a Christmas gift from the year before from ModCloth (from Brianna)!
xIMG_6118xIMG_6121It was quite the festive evening, with a lot of my college friends stuffed in a booth at my favorite pizza spot. I doubt anyone could see my outfit, but maybe that’s a good thing 🙂
10862506_10203252090924373_4012533310641139859_oWhat I Wore:
Skirt: Vintage
Sweater: Vintage
Belt: Thrifted
Boots: ModCloth
Earrings: ModCloth
Leave a Reply

