Jackie Style: My Husband’s Closet

Greetings from Orlando! I am on a work trip for the week, not missing the snow too much. Florida weather isn’t my favorite, but I have to say this is a nice change of pace.

This week’s outfit inspiration came from my best friend! She stole one of her fiance’s flannel shirts and threw a cute belt over it, and I loved it! I had to try it for myself with something from my husband’s closet.
IMG_6468IMG_6470(Side note: Does anyone else think My Husband’s Closet sounds like an awesome store to buy thrifted men’s clothing or menswear-inspired women’s clothing, where the sales associates help you style the clothing with accessories to make chic outfits? This is a business venture I need to explore. I feel a lot like Tom Haverford right now).

Fun fact: Did you know men’s shirts are awesome? They’re soft, forgiving and the patterns rock. Plus, I kind of feel like a lumberjack.
IMG_6466My husband thought the shirt looked cute but he joked a bit about how it was his shirt, not mine. But hey, I washed it and put it right back! Maybe I will have to peer clearance racks and thrift stores for my own men’s shirts.

My hips were a little big for this shirt because my husband is a pole, which is why the last button isn’t fastened. But I don’t think it’s necessary. If you’re going to try men’s shirts, just remember it wasn’t technically built for a woman’s body. So you might have to go a size up because the shirt isn’t made for your girls…But it’s totally worth it. Who cares what number or letter is on the tag as long as you like how it looks on you?
IMG_6477I decided to pair the flannel with some brown accessories and boots. I also wore some amazing high waisted jeans because they are always awesome. Always. Just ask Melissa.
IMG_6478IMG_6481IMG_6483The best part about the belt? My best friend has the same one and wore it with her flannel 🙂
IMG_6484I took these photos last week during our winter storm. I came home after driving in snow when the sun had set, so I had to take photos inside. Probably going to happen a lot this winter. I bought a lighting kit with the funds from selling my old point-and-shoot, which should help! I’m lucky that I have inspiration from fellow blogger Alligator Toe about making it work under pressure 🙂
IMG_6485

What I Wore:
Shirt: My Husband’s Closet
Scarf: ModCloth
Earrings: A Delightful Shop
Bracelet: Handmade
Jeans: ModCloth
Boots: ModCloth

 

 

2 thoughts on “Jackie Style: My Husband’s Closet

  1. I love this – the outfit, the poses, the title – adorable!! One of my favorite plaid flannel shirts is from the men’s section of the thrift store, I love men’s and boy’s clothing if it fits a style in going for, like with this look! Also, awesome photos, so happy I could inspire you to make it work! 😉

Leave a Reply

