Jackie Style: Sew What

In college, I used to visit this vintage clothing store, Revolver, in downtown Fargo pretty regularly. My friend Kate and I once left campus on a break from class just to go shopping at Revolver, which was saying something when campus parking was a battlefield (it was closed that day. Wah wah). This week’s dress was a lovely vintage find from years ago at Revolver that I haven’t worn in ages. You see, this dress has long sleeves and shoulder pads (shudder), and I was determined to turn it into a sleeveless dress.

One hitch in my plan: my sewing skills are lacking. Severely. Whoops. IMG_5971I have a sewing machine, just no skills to match. So this project sat in my closet forever. Then, miraculously, my same friend Kate was in town for our friends’ wedding and did me a favor: she cut the first sleeve off, pinned it and told me to just replicate it on the other side and add a simple stitch. So I did!

Fifteen months later. I rock at this, guys, truly. IMG_5978So now I have done it! It turned out pretty well. The stitching is a little uneven, but I don’t think it’s noticeable. And if it is, a cardigan hides it well. Either way, it’s a win! IMG_5962 Part of the appeal to this dress, as with all dresses and skirts, was the pockets. It’s a rarity to find a women’s garment from any era that has sizable pockets, so I rejoice whenever I find it! IMG_5960I paired a lace cream cardigan and light brown tights to let the light green stand out more. The oxfords made me feel so fall it hurt. To finish, I wore a bracelet I bought at Revolver when I paid a visit over my anniversary trip (no, I did not drag my husband in the store – he suggested I should take a visit and he was graciously willing to wait for me at the game store that sells his D n D supplies down the block ;)).

Remember that button bracelet of Melissa’s I bought years ago? This was from the same collection – the last one! I couldn’t just leave it there alone 🙂 She sometimes sells them or uses them in giveaways on her Instagram shop, so check it out if you’re craving one!

IMG_5980 IMG_5982It is so perfectly fall in Minnesota right now. My front porch is heaven. If you need me, you’ll find me here.

IMG_5954What I Wore:
Dress: Vintage
Cardigan: Gap (old)
Bracelet: Handmade
Tights: ModCloth
Shoes: Kelly & Katie

One thought on “Jackie Style: Sew What

Leave a Reply

