Jackie Style: Orchard Day

It inevitably happens every year: the temperatures drop in Minnesota, I get excited for fall, I dedicate to embracing the season and the weather gets one last warm surge before plummeting to the 50s and 60s I crave. That’s what happened this weekend as my husband and I took our annual trip to the orchard. Eighty-two degrees, you say? But I had such a cute fall outfit planned!

And like clockwork every year, I’m too stubborn to admit it’s too warm for my fall clothes and wear them anyway.

IMG_5747But I couldn’t help it! I’d been so excited to pull out this sock-and-shoe combo for weeks. It seemed so delightful for apple picking. Hence I was pretty sweaty by the time we left. Still no regrets.
IMG_5753This dress is a little shorter than what I normally wear, but I love the preppy look of the collar. Add some knee highs and a pair of oxfords, and I felt like a schoolgirl in the most G-rated, fashionable way.
IMG_5760A special shout out to my wallet for being the original inspiration for this week’s outfit! I would have never thought to wear knee high socks with oxfords and a dress, but the newspaper photo the wallet is made of gave me courage! I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a scholarly autumn look.

walletTo get in the spirit of apple picking, I wore my apple earrings! A fine “pick,” if I do say so myself 😉
IMG_5748We went to Deardorff Orchards, which is a 15-minute drive from our home. Not only is it convenient, but they grow a wide variety of apples for picking and pre-picked in the apple barn, plus baked goodies, apple butter, pumpkins, and more. The hay stacks, tractor rides and petting animals make it an ideal venue for kids too. And the orchard is home to Parley Lake Winery. You can do half tastings of four wines for $5 or full tastings of six wines for $10, and at the end of the full tasting you get a glass of your favorite. You keep the tasting glass too!
IMG_5759 IMG_5778 IMG_5779 IMG_5775And now I wait for the mid-60s weather to settle in for good 🙂

What I Wore:
Dress: Forever 21
Cardigan: Target
Earrings: Urban Outfitters (also worn here)
Socks: Target
Shoes: Somewhere in Santa Monica (also worn here)

What are some of your favorite autumn activities?

Leave a Reply

