Jackie Style: Bridesmaid Remix

This weekend was my cousin Lisa’s wedding, which was one of the only weddings I had this summer (and by “only,” I meant this is the first summer in years where I didn’t have six). I decided to bring out an old bridesmaid’s dress for the occasion!

IMG_5384
A bridesmaid’s dress doesn’t have to me a one-time wear. It’s all about refashioning. With this dress, I originally wore silver drop earrings and black satin heels. I went for a slightly more casual heel, post earrings, a pearl bracelet (which I put in my purse later because I felt just a little too formal) and a cardigan for when it got cold. It’s not drastically different but just enough that it feels like a new outfit!

IMG_5387

IMG_5426
Admittedly, I got pretty lucky – the bride whose wedding I wore this dress for let us go to David’s Bridal with a chosen color and select whichever dress fit our style best. This one is a lovely cotton material and has pockets!

IMG_5443

I also got to show off the tattoo!

IMG_5446
I have to say, as happy as I was to not have too many weekends taken up this summer, I really love weddings. The gathering of family and friends, seeing two people begin their journey together, awesome dance music…I love it all. This one was particularly special; seeing my cousin Lisa marry her best friend (finally! ;)) was a tear jerker and I couldn’t be more thrilled for them!

10494633_10202547570071792_29985512003412819_n

10592787_10202550776511951_467783495225012662_n
What I Wore:
Dress: David’s Bridal
Earrings: Forever 21
Cardigan: Forever 21
Bracelet: Thrifted
Shoes: DSW

How do you refashion your bridesmaid’s dresses?

Leave a Reply

