Marilyn Style: A Little Party Never Killed Nobody

Yes, I just watched the newer Great Gatsby for the millionth time. I know a lot of people don’t like it – or this interpretation of it – but Baz Luhrmann is one of my favorite directors so I am just gonna go ahead and say I LOVED it.

The excess of the 1920’s is, in retrospect, a bad thing, but in fashion it’s all good. My friend Becca hosted a wonderful 1920’s party for her birthday a couple weekends ago, and I finally got to indulge in the one era I have yet to dress up for. Lace, feathers, diamonds, and (faux) fur, oh my!

IMG_4599

I wore a lace dress and slip I have had for a couple years now but never knew how to pull off in an everyday setting. It’s pretty risque in that it never seems to stay in place, but when you’re swapping husbands and drinking moonshine, a girl needn’t worry about such things.

bIMG_4601
bIMG_4604

I had accessories galore, but the thing I was most excited about was the headband. I have had this purple broach forever and was waiting for the day that I could wear it on my head, though I had no idea how I would pull it off. Then LIGHTBULB, I could pin it on an existing headband! It really shouldn’t of taking my years to come up with, but it did. Now I am wondering what else I could pin on my headband. The world just got much bigger my friends.

bIMG_4603

I just think it’s so fun to have an excuse to dress up. What is more fun is having a fancy way to capture it! Becca and her husband set up a great homemade photobooth in their guest room and it was perfect! Black and white pictures with your friends while looking spiffy? Count me in.

IMG_206862187017910

IMG_206835155490368
IMG_206780225137865
What I Wore:
Dress: Thrifted
Shoes: Urban Outfitters
Headband: Forever 21/Thrifted Broach
Earrings: Forever 21
Rings and Necklace: Thrifted
Coat: Garage Sale
Leave a Reply

