Marilyn Style: Blue Velvet

Although I’m not an 80’s mystery romp, I am throwing it back this Thursday with a wonderful retro outfit new to my closet.

IMG_9795.JPGIMG_9796-0.JPG

I found this gorgeous velvet dress at Goodwill for $7. I put it in my hands and went directly to the check out without trying it on. Even if it didn’t fit me, I had to have it and look at it for aw hile before my time with it was over. If you’re picturing me petting the dress in the corner, then you’re not far off.

IMG_9797.JPG

Luckily, it did fit (in a “who needs to breathe anyway?” sort of way) so I get to enjoy it for a little while. My friend from college is making a silent 40’s movie (check it out!) so all of a sudden I had an opportunity to not only wear this baby but wear it in its full old school glory!

IMG_9794.JPG

Of course, I already had a blue velvet hat in my collection. It was one of those antique store purchases that your logical brain says “you will never need this” but your style brain says “OMG IT’S SO PRETTTTTTTY!!!!” Take that, logical brain. Get back to eating your salads and getting 8 hours of sleep.

I paired this outfit with some wonderful gray shoes (also worn in Brianna’s wedding) and simple (but elegant) costume earrings.

IMG_9798.JPGIMG_9799.JPG

I love opportunities to dress up like this, because my closet gets to shine. A lot of the time, my love for vintage items leads to the most gorgeous items sitting in the back of my closet. Treat every day like you’re an extra in a period film, people. Life’s too short!

What I Wore:
Dress: Thrifted
Hat: Antique Store
Earrings: Thrifted
Shoes: Urban Outfitters

What is your favorite era to emulate?

Leave a Reply

