Jackie Style: All Business

My new job uses a business casual dress code, which has been some getting used to. My last job was “workplace casual” – code for “keep everything respectfully covered and look clean.” It’s given me a new challenge to create outfits that are appropriate and still me.

One thing I’ve found, based on how I dressed for my interviews and how I continue to dress now, is that I must believe houndstooth is the pattern of professionals. Or writers, at least.

IMG_5291
When I incorporate color into my business casual outfits, I like to keep things neutral with that one special pop. This black-and-white dress and blazer combo create a fun, clean palette that let the shoes, and to some extent the rust tights, shine. It’s playful without being too much.

IMG_5285

IMG_5309
I’ve had this houndstooth dress for years and I still love finding new ways to wear it. Plus, it’s houndstooth! And I have a writing job now! Hooray for the pattern of writers (according to me, I guess)!

IMG_5304

IMG_5306
What I Wore:
Dress: ModCloth (old, similar)
Blazer: Thrifted
Tights: Target
Shoes: Urban Outfitters (also seen here)

How do you keep your wardrobe fun at the office?

3 thoughts on “Jackie Style: All Business

Leave a Reply

