Marilyn Style: So Soft

I used to think I was a punk rocker, and though I still won’t turn down something studded, I have had an obsession with ethereal, soft looks lately.

IMG_5253
Flowy dresses, up-dos, pearls, and lace. Helllllo nurse. There is something about the highly feminine look that makes me feel like I’m floating. Recently while sporting these such looks I’ve been called “precious” and “a girl’s girl” by complete strangers. It’s both amazing and terrifying how much you can convey through fashion, especially when it’s far from true! I’ve always loved messing with people’s heads (in the nicest ways) and this is just another way. Cracking a crass joke while looking like a Disney princess is my own personal heaven.
bIMG_5247
bIMG_5258
I got this gorgeous rose-adorned dress very recently from an antique shop in St. Paul. I tried it on and wanted to wear it right out of the store. It’s a little big, but that just adds to the appeal to me (so comfy!).
bIMG_5256
Another fun find were these simple white sandals at a thrift store by my hometown. $2 dollars and some glue later (the sole was coming loose) and I’ve never been happier. I’ve been flip flopping my whole life, and I truly appreciate this change of pace!
bIMG_5257
I added some roughness with my jean jacket and giant earrings because we don’t want anymore “precious” words being thrown around.
bIMG_5255What I Wore:
Dress: Thrifted
Barrett: Gift
Earrings: Forever 21
Jacket: Thrifted
Belt: Thrifted
Sandals: Thrifted

 

On a less precious note, as Brianna mentioned, it was our last day taking blog pictures together as she has moved on to bigger and boatier things. Congrats to her and OH DEAR GOD WHAT DO I DO WITH OUT HER HERE? to me.

20140731-061803-22683978.jpg

Leave a Reply

