Jackie Style: The One That Didn’t Get Away

Once upon a time, there was a dress. It was a beautiful dress, but I thought it made my hips look large and my waist look like it would burst. Determined to wear it again someday, I put it in my closet pile of “items I can wear when I lose a few more pounds.” Over two years later, I was cleaning out my closet and decided to try it on one last time. If it still didn’t fit, it was gone. I was convinced it wouldn’t because there is no way I lost enough weight (I said as I took a bite of delicious pizza).

But it did fit. And it didn’t just fit – it looked good. The dress was saved from the thrift store pile! And made it all the way to today’s post 🙂

IMG_5241_2Only one of two things could have happened in this scenario: either I somehow lost weight without realizing it (unlikely, I thought as I stared at my cancelled gym membership card), or I was way harsher on myself two years ago than I am now.

Bingo.

IMG_5238
I spent a good half hour looking at myself asking “Girl, what is wrong with you? Do you know how many times you could have worn this dress??” This was a lesson learned in being a better self-critic. I firmly believe we are all our own self esteem’s worst enemy, and this was a classic example. Have you ever had a similar moment with your own wardrobe? I’d love to hear your stories and how you pep talked yourself into being nicer to you. 🙂

I’m not normally one for cutout dresses, and I especially wasn’t when this dress was gifted to me. However, I took a chance on it because it is so lovely. I think I am becoming a convert! It felt so cool on a muggy day.

IMG_5245

IMG_5246

I finished the outfit off with some classic accessories and a little sunburn 😉

IMG_5243

IMG_5242_2

What I Wore:
Dress: ModCloth
Necklace: Etsy
Shoes: ModCloth (also seen here)

Though this was a joyful outfit, it was a bittersweet day: I recently accepted a new position as Managing Editor of a trade magazine, which means Melissa and I no longer work for the same company. I’m excited about my new job, but sad we won’t be taking blog outfit photos together anymore.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

3 thoughts on “Jackie Style: The One That Didn’t Get Away

  1. This dress is a-freaking-dorable on you! (And I love, love, love your saltwater sandals, I want me a pair!!) I have definitely loved and hated the same items of clothing depending on my mood that day, but generally, if I don’t feel good in something, I just go for something else and try again another day. It definitely varies by mood and day by day so I don’t let it get to me, just move on and try again later! 🙂

    • Thank you, dear! Your philosophy on coming back to clothing items is a good one. I’ve had a bad habit of being overly-critical, mostly because I don’t have my college/walk at work/school all day/taking a dance class for my theater minor body anymore (and, realistically, probably won’t ever again because WHAT THE HECK WAS I DOING??? ;)), but this was a great exercise in being happy with the body I have and knowing that even if it looks different than it used to, it’s still a pretty good one.

      And girl, you NEED those sandals. NEED them! 🙂 – Brianna

      • Hahaha you might be right, I have been eyeing the navy blue pair for quite some time… 😉
        And I totally get it, I definitely gained weight during AND after college, but then I decided that I wanted to change my habits and live a healthier lifestyle NOW because it will only get harder to change as I get older, and I’m gad I did because I lost 30 lbs and I’m the healthiest I’ve been since high school!! Plus, I just appreciate my body so much more now knowing all the hard work I put into it. So if something doesn’t fit or doesn’t look good, it’s the clothes, not me! 😉

Leave a Reply

