Marilyn Style: Cream of the Crop Top

Ah, the crop top. The most loved/dreaded look of now. I’ve never been one to shy away from showing a little navel, but the older I get and the less I work out, I wonder how appropriate this look would be for me. Where were you when I was 16 and in the best shape of my young life, crop tops? WHERE WERE YOU?
Now despite my trepidation, I believe anyone can pull off a crop top. Luckily, high-waisted skirts are a part of this trend as well, so a mere half inch of skin is all you really need to show. I wore my favorite high-waisted skirt, which is the perfect fit for my waist. Since my hip to waist ratio is a bit extreme, it’s hard for me to find something that fits both of these areas. Thank you, thrift shop serendipity! When you find a basic that fits so well and goes with everything, you best wear it often!
bIMG_4401 (1)
I got this crop top from Forever 21 this spring and had it hidden away until now. I could hear it calling me, but I just wasn’t brave enough yet. I woke up on one Sunday funday morning and realized there is no time like the present – YOCTO! (You Only Crop Top Once…and then you’re obsessed and wear it all the time and acquire more but then unfortunately it’s winter so you start crying!)
bIMG_4404
I complimented the pink flowers on my crop top with these great earrings from ModCloth. There is also a matching necklace that goes with these, but I’ve been trying to learn to edit my accessories. That being said, I made sure to wear these bright pink heart sunglasses because the heart wants what the heart wants.
bIMG_4408
My trusty lace boots aren’t going anywhere. I know I’ve been wearing them a lot lately, but when something works, why change it?
bIMG_4410
I felt confident all day – even with a food belly from a large Sunday brunch. Anyone can crop top, so get to the shop!
1405284167508
Top: Forever 21
Skirt: Thrifted (also worn here)
Earrings: ModCloth
Sunglasses: Target
Boots: ModCloth (also worn here)
What big fashion fears have you overcome lately?
Leave a Reply

