Marilyn Style: Get into the Groove

ORANGE! Ask anyone you know and I hate it. But to be more specific, blaze orange is my enemy. I just find it really hard to accept it into the fashion world and would much rather leave it on hunting vests and road work signs. That being said, I’m trying to incorporate more retina-friendly orange into my summer wardrobe, and this dress does the trick.
bIMG_4312
I’ll let you in on a little secret – this dress isn’t a dress at all! It’s a nightgown! I got it from a thrift store, complete with a matching nightie overcoat with ruffles. I have not found use for a sheer tropical ruffled overcoat just yet, but I feel the nightgown is pretty easy to pull off as a dress.
IMG_4318
bIMG_4322
I love the shape and pattern of this baby, very groovy. Unfortunately the only slip I have doesn’t adjust for the weird neckline, so it shows every once in awhile.  This dress  MUST be belted, as it is much more in the muumuu family of dresses. I picked up this children’s butterfly belt for 50 cents at a new thrift store in my town. I will not apologize.
IMG_4332
I picked fun abalone earrings to keep the groove going. I used to be into really big earrings. I’ve settled down a bit (an ear can only take so much torture), but I still like to bust them out from time to time. I couldn’t decide which flower to wear in my hair, so I found it essential to keep the flower child look going and wear all of them.
IMG_4324
IMG_4327
Finally, why not get a little weird and wear some cowboy boots? I wore this to take a walk around Lake Calhoun, so I wanted something comfortable. Minnesota has been flooding something fierce, so the lake got much bigger than usual. I found out these boots are not waterproof, so that science experiment can be checked off my list.
IMG_4329
Peace out 🙂
What I Wore:
Dress: Vintage
Belt: Thrift Store
Boots: Thrift Store
Earrings: Forever 21
Flowers: Forever 21 and H&M
4 thoughts on “Marilyn Style: Get into the Groove

  1. I love these colors together, and I think they look great with your coloring here. Vintage nightgown with boots is classic grunge, and you’ve added enough glam to make it a little Dolly too. (The highest compliment..) I’m not saying it just because orange is my favorite color…

  2. I never would have guessed that dress is a nightgown – it’s darling and you pull it off to perfection! And I am totally digging the vibrant, fun color & pattern!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

