Marilyn Style: Birthday II – The Reckoning

No, I am not still celebrating my birthday. Frankly, I’m exhausted and I just want some normal non-dessert only eating days. That being said, I celebrated the H E double Hockey Sticks out of my birthday over Memorial Day weekend. After the pool party, I took a trip to the zoo and made sure I looked tight for the elephants.

IMG_4207
Every year I try to justify a dress purchase by saying I NEED THIS IT’S MY BIRTHDAY DRESS. It usually goes over pretty well, I’m like “Thank you me, for the kind gift…now how do I fit this in my closet?” This year I justified this INSANE dress from Ruche. Florals, giant circle skirt, gorgeous girly colors. It’s got everything.
IMG_4211
My best friend just happened to give me these amazing floral bobby pins the night before, without ever seeing or knowing about my birthday dress. This, people, is what best friends are for.
IMG_4205

I kept the purple/blue/pink going with a good old children’s belt from target and lavender sunglasses. Target also bestowed me this wonderful turquoise purse for hiding baboons in.

It was a very turtley weekend, so I made sure to wear this fun necklace that my mom had in the 70’s. A lot of my favorite vintage items come from her closet. There is something so wonderful about having something that you can pass on from generation to generation that (probably) no one else has.
IMG_4204
It’s been fun, Birthday, now don’t come back until next year. Or ever, unless you start Benjamin Buttoning me.
IMG_79571804565970
What I Wore:
Dress: Ruche
Belt: Target
Sunglasses: Target
Purse: Target
Necklace: Vintage

 

What do you do to spoil yourself for your birthday? Share in the comments – we’d love to hear new ideas! 😉
3 thoughts on “Marilyn Style: Birthday II – The Reckoning

  1. This dress is amazing!! How could you NOT get this dress for yourself for your birthday?! I love it! I usually buy myself something pretty for my birthday as well, typically shoes, in fact, since I don’t like to splurge often, but I figure shoes are well worth it! 😉

Leave a Reply

