Jackie Style: Saving a Favorite

Once upon a time I had a dress. It was a pretty dress with an umbrella pattern and it fit me very well. Suddenly, tragedy struck: while out for my husband’s birthday last year, I spilled chocolate raspberry ice cream on the skirt! I whisked it away to the dry cleaners, but it was no use – a permanent brown spot remains to this day. My husband claims it’s not noticeable, but I notice it.

Luckily, I had a solution: wear it as a blouse!

IMG_4745
The skirt I chose was about an inch longer than the dress, which made the skirt of the dress feel like a lining. I love how the patterns work together too!

IMG_4728
I chose a pair of gray oxfords because this weekend was a pretty rainy one. If the sun was out, a nice pair of wedges or sandals would have been perfect.

IMG_4739
The red necklace is a special one; I purchased it at a small shop in England when I visited the country on a college tour. I still get nostalgic about that trip and wish I could go back!

IMG_4750

What I Wore:
Dress/Blouse: Forever 21
Necklace: Shop in England
Skirt: Target
Belt: Forever 21
Shoes; DSW

And for funsies, I pulled this out of the archive. I found it at a vintage shop in Bath for 75 pounds – a 1950’s original. I STILL REGRET not buying it to this day. Follow your heart when it comes to vintage dresses, and let it guide the way to the register πŸ™‚ I did buy the gloves, though, and still have them!

vintagedress

How have you salvaged an item you thought was ruined?

3 thoughts on “Jackie Style: Saving a Favorite

Leave a Reply

