Jackie Style: Go Your Own Way

Hope everyone had a great Memorial Day weekend! Mine was a pretty busy one – my husband’s birthday was Tuesday, and so we planned a big road trip from Minnesota to Yellowstone National Park. Sharing a birthday month with your spouse is not easy, but I love him so he’s worth it 🙂 We split the drive into two days on the way there but decided to power through on the way home. The allure of your own bed can be quite strong!

IMG_4717
If you’re spending all day driving the number one priority is comfort, but comfort and cute don’t have to be mutually exclusive! A fun, baggy t-shirt paired with a sun hat can go a long way. Pro tip: hats help cover slightly gross hair, which comes in handy when your departure time is 6:00 am. For shoes, I make sure they feel comfortable while driving. The shorts I am wearing are pretty stretchy, so they didn’t make me feel too tight.

IMG_4720
Why would you care about looking fashionable on a road trip if you’re going to spend all day in the car? If you’re not making a 16-hour drive in one day like some of us (pulls collar…), you’re probably stopping along the way and enjoying any fun sites you may see, like a GIANT buffalo statue (I’m looking at you, Jamestown, N.D.). I hate photos of me with car hair and sweatpants personally, so it allows you to feel confident and ready if a memory is about to be made 🙂

This t-shirt was a necessity on this road trip. Zac is a big Fleetwood Mac fan, particularly of the “Rumours” album, and it’s grown on me as well. It’s a staple on any long drive we take, so when I saw this t-shirt on ModCloth I had to have it for our inevitable car renditions!

IMG_4719_crop

What I Wore:
T-Shirt: ModCloth
Shorts: ModCloth
Hat: Forever 21
Shoes: Somewhere in Santa Monica forever ago

This road trip was truly amazing, and Yellowstone was wonderful. I can’t wait to go back someday! I will leave you with some photos from the best moment of the trip: the Taco Bus, where we ate dinner after a long hike on Memorial Day. Sure, we saw canyons and waterfalls and wildlife and amazing displays of geology, but TACO BUS.

Note the chambray shirt in the third photo – I can’t get enough 🙂

tacobus

tacobus2

tacobus3

What are some of your road trip fashion tips?

2 thoughts on “Jackie Style: Go Your Own Way

Leave a Reply

