Marilyn Style: Vegas, Baby!

Finally, some summer wear! No, hell didn’t freeze over and Minnesota didn’t thaw. We are on the cusp of a snowstorm, actually. But I did spend last week in Las Vegas with my parents. A lot of things happened that needed to stay there, but I figure this outfit can be shared.

DSC_0138

 

For the last day of vacation and the first day spent off the strip, I decided to go full-on flower child. I wasn’t quite sure where we were heading, so I wanted to be prepared with something I could wear my swimsuit under. Luckily I was prepared for swimming, Ferrari riding, hiking, and breathtaking views.

 

1384024_10100885142529631_578144768_n

 

I wanted to wear my Forever 21 maxi skirt I got the day before, which is already one of my new favorites. I love the half slip so I can show some leg with out being in a miniskirt. And that color! Forever 21 is convincing me that maxi skirts aren’t to be feared.

 

DSC_0154

 

I paired the skirt with my combat boots, because they were the only shoes my feet could handle after a week walking the strip. I think the mountains were much kinder to me – at least part of me was willing to hike.

I got this adorable crop top at the end of last summer in a close-out sale and have been chomping at the bit to wear it. Finally. Since it’s NSFW and I don’t have much of a social life, it may be a while before I get to wear it again.

I went through a time in my life where I bought a jean jacket every single time I went thrifting. I just recently purged my collection down to my favorite: this one. I may have shouted “Return from whence you came!” when I dropped the rest off at the thrift store.
I topped off the hippie look with a flower headband and flower earrings. I made sure the desert had a couple more flowers, they seemed to be lacking.

 

DSC_0157

 

All in all it was a very memorable, comfortable, peace and love day! Special thanks to my feet for not leading me off a cliff and special thanks to my mom for following me around with a camera the whole trip 🙂

What I Wore:
Skirt: Forever 21
Top: Lola (now BCBG)
Jacket: Thrifted
Earrings: Forever 21
Hair Band: Forever 21
Sunglasses: Ruche
Boots: Groupon (also seen here)

What are some of your favorite items to wear when traveling?
4 thoughts on “Marilyn Style: Vegas, Baby!

Leave a Reply

