Jackie Style: Complementary, My Dear

Happy first day of spring, everyone! If you didn’t get up to see the sunrise today, make sure you see the sunset – I think it’s neat to see it rise directly east and set directly west on the equinoxes 🙂

The past couple of weeks have been nuts at work. I have been working on editing a manuscript at my job, trying to meet the print deadline – lots of late nights! When work is stressing you out it’s hard to focus on your outfit, but I find it gives me that extra burst of energy: I look good, therefore I can do ANYTHING!

However, I definitely was busy so I stuck with a staple of mine: the Coach Tour dress from ModCloth.

IMG_2606
I love the comfort and versatility of this dress. I have it in a host of colors (unfortunately this one is no longer available) and I love finding new ways to accessorize with it. Normally I blend neutrals to let the rust color shine, but I chose a blue cardigan for this outfit to add some complementary tones.

Rust is still a bit new to me. If you had asked me a few years ago if I look good in any form of orange, I would have said “heck no!” Now I love the color and enjoy adding it to my wardrobe. Gotta love when trying something new pays off!

I added some texture to this outfit with houndstooth sweater tights. I love the subtle pattern!

IMG_2630

I brought out the handmade jewelry this week. My earrings came from an Etsy shop, which unfortunately is no longer selling fabric button earrings (P.S. I LOVE button earrings!). The necklace has been in my wardrobe for nine years! I bought it at the Minnesota State Fair right before I began high school and wore it almost exclusively through those years. And where did the adorable button bracelet come from? Melissa! She used to sell them at a vintage clothing store in Fargo while we were attending college, and I bought it before I knew she made it.

IMG_2625

IMG_2628

Also, thanks to my friend Nathan who let me borrow his Canon EF telephoto lens – I’ve been contemplating buying one and he let me take his for a test run! I’m really enjoying it so far, and now that the weather is thawing I can’t wait to take more photos outdoors!

IMG_2593
What I wore:
Dress: ModCloth (similar)
Cardigan: ModCloth
Tights: Forever 21
Boot Socks: Target
Boots: Target
Earrings: Etsy
Necklace: Handmade
Bracelet: Handmade

What are some colors you have been scared to wear? Did you ever try it, and how did it turn out? Tell us about it in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Jackie Style: Complementary, My Dear

Leave a Reply

