Marilyn Style: Pastel Pals

Despite the potential for ten inches of snow in the next couple days (us Minnesotans love talking about the weather…sorry!), I’m still keeping the spring trends in mind!

Pastels are super in, which I both love and fear. Being polar bear white, there are a lot of things that wash me out if I’m not careful. Pretty petal pinks become a part of me and I often look naked or sick. I have been fighting the mint trend because of my past run-ins with dainty colors that make me look fainty, but I have recently embraced it with a whole TWO mint items currently in my closet.

IMG_3873
This latest one is from ModCloth. I rarely order anything but dresses or jewelry from there  because those are my bank account kryptonite – but I took a chance on this shirt and I’m glad I did. I belt everything – even (see: especially) peplum tops. Drawing attention to one’s waist is the pear-shaped girl’s best friend.

The skirt, belt, and earrings are all from Forever 21. This blog has made me realize I get more from this store than I initially thought (can you blame me?).

IMG_3874

I usually try on maxi skirts and cry big messy tears because it accentuates all the wrong things, but paired with the waist-cinching shirt this look makes me shed little tears. I love the lace detailing and the petal pink works when it’s not so close to my face.

IMG_3877
The sunglasses are a new addition from Ruche – something I’m very excited to break out again now that the sun is actually out for more than a couple hours a day!

I wore this look out to brunch with my grandma and parents. I asked my mom to take the pictures to post and then we had to explain to my grandma what a blog was. Since my mom was bragging about her frequent shout outs on here., Grandma got jealous. So this one is for you, Grandma! Thanks for being born 🙂

1503232_10100871725707051_1361482264_n

Shirt: ModCloth
Skirt: Forever 21
Ring: ModCloth (old)
Earrings: Forever 21 (similar)
Boots: Groupon (similar)
Belt: Forever 21 (old)
Sunglasses: Ruche (similar)

What are some fashion risks you have taken lately? And how much does the weather affect your outfit choice? We’d love to hear from you!

One thought on “Marilyn Style: Pastel Pals

Leave a Reply

