Marilyn Style: Put a Bird on It

I’ll say this on every post: I’m terrible at editing my outfits. I want to wear all the colors, patterns, and eras at once. I can tone it down, and in previous work environments I had to. I used to pair this amazeballs Hummingbird dress with brown tights, brown boots, and sorrow. Now that I’m known for being a little out there with my work style, I’ve forgotten to care.

IMG_3854

IMG_3858

The theme of this outfit was Rainbow Bright Goes to Corporate America. Or crayola puke. The last couple weeks I’ve been slowly pulling out my spring clothes…and realize they are all very brightly colored. I paired this dress with some killer turquoise ribbed tights from Target, my green plaid boots from ModCloth, and some pink target boot socks.

IMG_3862

I will admit, the forest green blazer is a little much. I initially put it on because I was cold and it was near me…I left it on because it was a color and therefore a part of my theme. Had my baby blue blazer been clean, I think it would have been a better fit. Also, Baby Blue Blazer is much more fun to say.

I tried to keep my accessories simple. It’s not often I wear stud earrings, but I couldn’t resist keeping the bird theme going. The blingy ring was an antique store find that I just recently rediscovered in my collection. The hair clip was from my wonderful mother, who once again knows my style all too well.

IMG_3867

 

IMG_3869

Hopefully next week I’ll have an example of my ability to dress like a human who takes herself seriously. I promise I can do it!

What I Wore:
Dress: ModCloth
Tights: Similar
Earrings: Target (old)
Boots: ModCloth (sold out)
Ring: Antique Store
Barrette: Gift (similar)

 How do you express your individual style at work?
Leave a Reply

