Marilyn Style: Thinking Spring

“I’m in Minnesota again for the winter…”

I’ve been listening to “10,000 Lakes” by Kid Dakota and lamenting this colder than usual weather. I’m never one for a day below 60 degrees, but these months straight of below zero temps are just cruel! So I’ve been trying to think spring. It is March, after all. All of my winter clothes are navy’s and dark greens, so I’m slowly bringing some color into the mix.

IMG_3848
This floral skirt from Forever 21 is one of my favorite year-round staples. When I first got it I could not find anything that went with it…then I realized everything goes with it. Usually in the winter I pair this with my favorite green cowl neck but – in the spirit of pretending I’m not on the set of Frozen – I chose a thrifted coral shirt.

More flowers come from the clasp of my belt and my pink earrings. I’m terrible at editing my outfits: I always want to wear all the things and I usually let myself do just that. Because I’m not kidding myself, I’m wearing my salt-kicking combat boots from a Groupon order.

IMG_3831

IMG_3840
My favorite part of this outfit is the necklace. My mom got it for me at some cutesy shop and gave it to me on a weekend visit sometime last summer. I had been through a particularly tough go of it and she had the message I needed to see right there on bird necklace: Sing a new song. Did I roll my eyes? Of course. Did I also shed a couple tears behind her back? Always. Now it’s here to remind me that the birds will be singing sometime soon.

IMG_3841
Skirt: Forever 21
Shirt: Thrifted
Belt: Forever 21
Earrings and Necklace: Gifted
Boots: Groupon

How do you beat the winter blues with your wardrobe? We’d love to hear what works for you!

One thought on “Marilyn Style: Thinking Spring

Leave a Reply

